Getting my hands dirty….

2 Dec

I am the type of person who likes to engage in things and “get my hands dirty”.  That has been the nice thing about this blog.  I have to force myself to do things and experience life in the sports world so I have something to write about.

Over the past few weeks, I have been helping the team I work with put together a marketing plan, with two talented, young energetic people trying to make their way…much like me.  We have two tracks: 1) market the team to businesses as a good way to advertise, and 2) market the team to fans as a good “product”.  As a former urban planner, I have it in my system to make plans…to plan things.  However, nothing really beats getting out there and talking to people.  Execution!  You really have to go door-to-door sometimes and put yourself out there.  The same with getting fans in the doors, I think.  Advertising may have some effect, but at the end of the day you have to make fans feel like they are part of something.  That requires getting involved with people.

On the other hand, I have had an odd experience with live updating games through Twitter.  I started doing this just to see how it works and it had become a bit addictive.  It is nice though, because you really end up getting involved in the games, watching the players, seeing trends, etc. I started doing this while being at games; first at the Olympic pre-qualifier tournament and then at Ujpest league games.  When you’re at the game, it is more difficult because you are missing the live action while you’re typing in your phone (ok-maybe I should use a computer).  Yet, sometimes when I am live updating, I am not at the games.  Some of this is just a product of having three games at the same time in one night…can’t be everywhere at once.  So, I end up watching live updates from the internet and when there is a change in the action I tweet it.  I guess most people would never know I’m not actually at the games, but it is an interesting experience for me because I am not involved in the actual action – a situation where I am not getting my hands dirty, but it may be more beneficial for what I am trying to accomplish.

Anyway, just an odd thought of the day about getting things done – even something as simple as live tweeting games – when you don’t have you full resources (actually being live at the game).  Also, that sometimes when you go against your natural inclinations you find there is a better way of doing things, even if it isn’t your way.  However, at the end of the day, in most situations you get the best results by just going out in the world and trying to make things happen.

On that note, I will be live tweeting all of the MOL Liga action today, live and direct from the Economics PhD lab at Central European University.  You could check it yourself if you’re interested, but then why would you need me?

Leave a Reply

